Posted by: adeliciousmoment | August 30, 2013

C’est La Vie

Wow! Where in the world have I been? Allow me to explain…

If you happen to follow this blog, or you have simply happened upon this blog randomly, and you’ve been wondering if I might have dropped off the face of the Earth… This post is to let you know that I’m alive and well. I guess I feel like I should write one more time, as a sort of summary, a fill-in-the-blanks wrap-up of the last several months of my life here in Australia.

Image

I can hardly believe that it has been nearly nine months since I posted anything here. Then again, that does not surprise me at all, considering what an incredible journey I have been on during that time.

Mainly, I have just been living a simple life, alongside my wonderful partner, Glen. We have been settling into our days, happy to be together. That is nothing new, I know. What else can I say? C’est la vie.

Image

To explain further…

Life is brilliant. It has a way of shaping itself around you, forming threads and connections between people, creating new possibilities, spurring us on to new paths. Somehow, we find our way forward.

As of January, Glen and I have been embarking upon a wonderful–and slightly terrifying–new path. We are expecting a child. This is such a huge shift for us, and we couldn’t be happier. “Baking a baby”, as one friend of mine put it, has been a pretty awesome experience, for me. I don’t want to ramble on and on about it, because that’s not really my style. Suffice it to say that being pregnant, and getting ready for such a big life change, has truly been amazing–and I’m sure that this amazement is just the beginning of many more amazing moments in life.

I wish my family could be here, when the baby comes. I miss them all so much. Times like this remind me of just how far away they are, back in Ohio, and make me wish that visiting each other was easier and less expensive. At least we can all keep in touch via webcam, email, phone calls, and photos.

Image

So, you see, I do have a good excuse for not writing. Not only have I been lucky enough to find the love of my life, and for us to be creating a good life together. Now I can say that we are lucky enough to have created a new little being to share this life with.

Image

Quite a lot of wonderfulness going on…

During the last several months, I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know a few incredibly lovely women, who have become dear friends. They are like my sisters now. Knowing them has really made me feel like I belong here. I feel more connected, more loved. Also, these fantastic women have really helped me to get used to the idea of becoming a mum. We have lunch together every week, and they are even throwing a baby shower for me, in a few days. I love them all.

As for becoming a resident here, well, that is still an ongoing process. Lots of paperwork has been done. Lots of waiting, waiting, waiting. I just have to get some medical tests done, after the baby arrives. Then, if all goes well, I will finally (FINALLY!) be a resident of Australia.

One last thing, I’m really enjoying doing my style blog, lamb & blonde. It is such a great creative outlet, the thing I do almost every day which makes me smile and feel like I’ve made a small effort to bring a little beauty to the world. I’m not sure if I will do an online shop, in connection with the blog, as I had previously planned to do. That idea is on the back burner, while Glen and I focus on our family life together. We’ll see. I would still love to do something like that, though, if all of the pieces would fall into place at the right time.

Image

I hope you’ll understand if this happens to be my last post here.

My adventure isn’t ending–far from it. I’m here to stay, and I’m loving my life.

Cheers!

Image

{Image sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6}

Responses

  1. Nice to hear all the updates … beautiful visuals as always … wonderful to hear how your life has just bloomed in Australia!! I hope this isn’t your last post, but if it is I know where to find you 🙂

  2. Thank you, Laurie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

