Posted by: adeliciousmoment | February 16, 2012

Oh, Casper, my Casper…

One of the most difficult aspects of moving abroad was having to part with my beloved kitty cat, Casper. At least I knew that he would be in good hands, living with my mom and step-dad. They really made Casper a part of their family. I saw how well cared-for he was while  I stayed with them, on my visit back to the U.S. last year.

When I left Ohio to return to Australia in early December, I had a feeling that I would not see my cat again. I just didn’t know how soon I would lose him. Casper already had a tumor growing within him when I left, but I had no idea.

My sweet boy had to be put to sleep, about two weeks ago. Needless to say, losing him hit me pretty hard. The odd thing was, I’d had a dream a couple of nights beforehand, that my mom had told me he died, and that they had buried him the back yard. And my boyfriend, Glen, had dreamed of holding a dead cat, the night before I was told about Casper’s passing. I guess my sweet kitty was trying to tell us what was going on.

Casper lived a healthy happy life. He was almost 12 years old when he died. I’d had him since the day he was born, and I still recall how it felt to hold his tiny body in the palm of my hand. He was the bully of the litter of kittens, and he grew larger than his mother within 9 weeks of age. Casper grew to be a very big kitty, just about the largest cat I have ever seen, in fact. You could say there was simply more of him to love.

What I wouldn’t give to feel his warm fluffy body burrowing against mine, while I’m reading in bed, and feel his soft paw gently nudging my nose, when he would try to tell me to wake up and feed him. I would like to believe that his spirit is living here with me, that he somehow found his way across 10, 000 miles, so we could be together again. Maybe… It’s possible.

I did a tribute to Casper on my blog, lamb & blonde, on the colour white, here.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Rest in Peace, my beautiful boy. I will never forget you. You were the best kitty ever. I will always love you.

11 May 2000 – 30 January 2012

Responses

  1. awwww. tender and sweet. the connection goes on.

  2. So sorry to hear about Casper…pets are so much a part of our lives and our families. Hope your sweet memories of him bring you comfort.

  3. Thank you so much for your kind words.

  4. I’m just reading this now…so sorry Kim! I remember you talking about your kitty when we worked together. So sweet that he came to you in your dreams to say goodbye.


Leave a Reply

Categories

