Posted by: adeliciousmoment | October 22, 2011

Spider Hunting

Today, in the kitchen, I was reminded of something rather terrifying, which happened in Australia. Something which illustrates the difference between living in the Midwestern U.S. versus living Down Under.

I made my lunch, and was about to leave the room, when I saw a small greenish spider scurrying around the corner of the microwave. I smashed it with my shoe, and that was that. I didn’t even scream, not one bit. Ok, it was a tiny spider, and harmless, no doubt. There are very few dangerous insects in Ohio. I’m just not a big fan of creepy crawlies, especially spiders. I usually scream like, well, a girl, when I see one (thank goodness I am a girl, or this tendency would be even more embarrassing).

Scream is exactly what I did–like a bloody murder horror movie scream–when I found myself face-to-face with a Huntsman Spider, very early one morning in the kitchen, in Australia. It was the biggest spider I had ever seen in my life. I’m guessing it was larger than the palm of my hand. When I saw that thing, I knew I wasn’t in Ohio anymore.

Glen had told me, about the Huntsman, “You’ll know one when you see one.” He was not joking. It is a frightening-looking creature. Little did I know, at the time, they are quite harmless. After a good chase across the kitchen floor, I killed the Huntsman, and let out a gasp of relief, as I waited for my heart to stop pounding.

As my mother made sure to remind me, there are some very dangerous spiders in Australia. I have only seen one type to be concerned about, the Redback Spider. I saw them in the garden a few times, and once in the shower. They are easily recognizable by the red marking on their black bodies. Definitely worth a good blood-curdling scream, if you ask me.

(Image: Huntsman Spider)

Huntsman Spider info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huntsman_spider

Redback Spider info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Redback_spider

Leave a Reply

Categories

