Posted by: adeliciousmoment | October 11, 2011

Smooth Move

I’m happy to report that Glen and I have moved house, and it all went relatively smoothly. (Really, of course, Glen moved everything, since I’m still in Ohio–but I will use the word “we” because most of my belongings are there, and it will be my home soon.)

For weeks, we were looking for a new place, obsessively, and trying to stay within the area we have been living in, as well as within our budget, of course. It was not easy. Finally, we found a place through our own realty, with the same property manager. It is a two-bedroom apartment, which is more like a condo, I think, because it is all on ground level, and has a garage. When Glen saw it, he knew he should try to get it. The whole unit has been renovated, which includes a new kitchen, bathroom, and flooring. It is smaller than our previous rental house, but it looks quite nice, as far as I can tell from the photos I’ve seen. I’m excited to see it in person.

Only one piece of furniture was damaged in the move. There is a big scratch across the dining table. Ugh. Oh well. These things happen. We are just glad to be in the new place, so we can focus on other goals. I wish I could have been there to help Glen with the packing and moving and sorting. But I was there in spirit. I drew a floor plan to help him decide where to put some of the furniture. Our only real issue with the new place is the lack of storage. Like most apartments, and many new houses, there is simply not enough storage space. I think we will probably have to get some shelving and maybe a cabinet or something, to deal with that.

The little house switch plate cover, pictured above, is from my childhood bedroom. My brother’s family lives in the house we grew up in, and he let me have the switch plate cover, after having remodeled my old room. I have always wanted to have it, as it brings back happy memories. Isn’t it adorable, with the little blue bird and pink picket fence? I love it. Maybe, one day, it will hang in our new house (the Dream House, as I like to call it). For now, I would be content to be anywhere that Glen is, even in a tiny rented home. I’m counting the days until I can return to Oz, to be with him, and see our new place.

Leave a Reply

Categories

