Posted by: adeliciousmoment | May 18, 2011

Candy Store Diplomacy

At the local candy shop the other day, I found myself attempting an effort in diplomacy. As an American living abroad, apparently one must occasionally field questions on such matters as the death of Osama Bin Laden, as I did, while browsing colorful aisles of confectionery.

A very inquisitive elderly lady, behind the counter of the local lolly shop (“lolly” means “candy”, to those of you in the U.S.A.), started up a conversation about something in the newspaper, when my boyfriend and I were looking at the array of goodies for sale. Clearly eager to start up a conversation with someone, –anyone (it can be rather boring to wait for customers to arrive in a small shop, I know) she waved the newspaper about, to get our attention. When we replied, she then seemed to notice my American accent. She proceeded to ask me how I am enjoying my stay here in Australia, and I responded, happy to report that I love it here, especially the warm weather, wine country, etc.

Somehow the conversation turned to the subject of Osama Bin Laden’s recent death, and I felt the need to say something about it, in a polite and reassuring yet not-overly-patriotic tone. (I don’t recall exactly what I said.) She nodded and offered her own observations on the situation.

Then Glen and I went on about our candy-perusing business, deciding upon a tiny bag of milk chocolate Hershey’s Kisses (one of my favorite treats, and difficult to find here), and a pack of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (another favorite from back home). We devoured our lollies as we strolled down the main street, after the success of my diplomatic efforts.

I suppose all my nerdy experiences as a member of the Model United Nations, many moons ago, in high school, are finally paying off!

Responses

  1. Ohhh.. you did a good job being diplomatic too. You should form your own embassy 🙂

  2. Thanks, darling. Or maybe we should form our own empire. haha

    By the way, I want to mention that the tiny bag of Hershey’s Kisses cost nearly $4, and it contained perhaps 8 kisses. In the States, you can get a big bag of them for about $5. I miss that!

  3. I also love Hershey’s Kisses and Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups–I’d probably be at that candy shop pretty often! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

