Posted by: adeliciousmoment | January 20, 2011

Spoon confusion

The average person probably takes the size of their spoons for granted, right? Well, I know I did–until I got to Australia, that is, and I realized that spoon sizes are different here.

When Glen and I were looking for flatware (aka “cutlery” in the Aussie lingo), I discovered that teaspoons (the kind you eat with, not the kind you measure with) are a different size here. According to Glen, most people here eat with the larger-size spoon, which, to me, looks more like a serving spoon, not a teaspoon. It is quite large (in the above photo, it is the spoon on the left). The smaller-size spoon (above, the spoon on the right) is the dessert spoon, which is tiny. We use it for putting sugar in our coffee, and that’s about it. It is too small to eat with, really.

I was rather annoyed by this spoon size disparity, and I went out in search of a U.S.-size teaspoon. I was lucky enough to find one at a local discount shop (above, it is the spoon in the center). So now I have my very own special spoon! I guess taking it with me to dinner parties would be in poor taste, but, at home, I can use it whenever I like.

Leave a Reply

Categories

